Workshop: The Next-Generation Ground-Based Planetary Radar - Part II

May 10 - 14, 2021
California Institute of Technology - Pasadena, CA 91125

Workshop Overview:

Planetary radar observations have a laudable history of “firsts” including the determination of the astronomical unit at the precision sufficient for interplanetary navigation, the distribution of water at the south pole of the Moon, indications of water ice in the permanently shadowed regions at the poles of Mercury, polar ice and anomalous surface features on Mars, indications that the asteroid (16) Psyche is an exposed metallic core of a planetoid, establishing the icy nature of the Jovian satellites, and the initial characterizations of Titan's surface. In many cases, these discoveries by planetary radar systems have motivated missions or radar instruments on missions.  Further, the discovery of interstellar objects may present new radar targets for bridging Planetary Science and Astrophysics. 

With the loss of the Arecibo Planetary Radar, the Goldstone Solar System Radar is now the single dominant component of the world's planetary radar infrastructure. The latter system also depends upon a single antenna equipped with vacuum tube amplifiers, and significant issues have been experienced with its operational reliability and sustainability.

We will be holding a five-day virtual workshop to complete this study in May 2021. This builds on the successful three-day virtual gathering of the team during the summer of 2020, where the following questions were addressed:

  • What are ambitious science goals for planetary radar observations of asteroids?
  • What are ambitious science goals for planetary radar observations of terrestrial planets and into the outer solar system?
  • How might we accomplish these ambitious science goals?

A detailed program for the May 2021 workshop will be posted here soon...

Workshop Participants:

  • Tony Beasley – National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Lance Benner - JPL
  • Bryce Bolin – Caltech
  • Marina Brozovic – JPL
  • Michael Busch – SETI Institute
  • Bryan Butler – National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • Saverio Cambioni – University of Arizona
  • Bruce Campbell – Smithsonian Institution
  • Don Campbell – Cornell University
  • Paul Chodas – JPL
  • Larry D’Addario – Caltech
  • Katherine de Kleer – Caltech
  • Imke dePater – UC Berkeley
  • Kelly Fast – NASA Headquarters
  • Lindley Johnson – NASA Headquarter
  • Ed Kruzins – CSIRO
  • Joe Lazio – JPL
  • Sean Marshall - Arecibo Observatory
  • Karen O’Neil – Green Bank Observatory
  • Flora Paganelli –  Green Bank Observatory
  • Noemi Pinilla-Alonso –  Arecibo Observatory /Florida Space Institute
  • Vikram Ravi – Caltech
  • Carol Raymond – JPL
  • Edgard (Ed) Rivera-Valentin – Lunar & Planetary Institute (USRA)
  • Anish Roshi – Arecibo Observatory
  • Mike Rubel – Planet Labs, Inc.
  • Mark Taylor – JPL
  • Patrick Taylor – Lunar & Planetary Institute 
  • Bevin (Ashley) VanderLey – National Science Foundation
  • Flaviane Venditti – Arecibo Observatory Puerto Rico /University of Central Florida
  • Victor Vilnrotter – JPL
  • Anne Virkki – Arecibo Observatory
  • Steven Wilkinson – Raytheon Intelligence and Space